sometimes Glamping, sometimes Camping…

8 06 2015

THOW life… A lot of preparation goes into EVERY detail.

I WISH I had the stamina to compost, collect rainwater, grow my own food. Realistically, I don’t. I barely even cook. I own 2 cooking pans. TWO PANS. I always wonder what single person has the time for all of that? Definitely one of the reasons I wanted to move into a community and not out on my own. And thank goodness I did! Living in a tiny home means you only have one! ONE shower. So if the plumbing backs up every time you try to take a shower? Sucks to be you.

Glamping turns into camping very quickly if something stops working. Even in a community (especially TH communities considering they are so new and not all of the kinks are out yet), things go wrong or break. It’s frustrating. In the past month I have had trouble setting up personal wifi as well as having plumbing issues (after many showers at my tiny neighbors house). Obviously the property management (in an established TH community) stays on top of it to work everything out; but this may all be new for them too!

11138687_10102586831890175_6688617092535676973_n

I totally understand why many people choose to go completely off-grid (and I silently envy them for making it work). It would be nice to have complete control over my dwelling. But I still think the negatives outweigh the positives for me. I would still rather be a part of a community (although the best case scenario would be to live in an off-grid community… baby steps!)

11247601_10102586074058875_1457884771602789954_n-1

{a few of the THers in my community}

You don’t necessarily prepare yourself for things to break when you move into a place with modern conveniences. So when they happen… You are pretty much SOL. Unprepared for off-grid. That’s when you have to switch modes and become a “happy camper!” My work schedule may disagree, but maybe that is how the universe is telling me to slow down. Read a book, get off of the computer. GO OUTSIDE!

photo

I don’t think I could ever do enough “tiny” or “off-grid” research. I think one of the beautiful things about living tiny, is that if I ever decide to change something; I CAN. I don’t have a McMansion to renovate, I can easily make tiny changes to my tiny home that have a BIG impact. For example, I realized I wanted my own personal internet account; which means drilling a hole into my house for a box wire connection. Breaking the bank? Nope, only $100.

I can evolve with the movement and so can my tiny home. Regardless, the best things in life are free!

“I thought I was pretty cool until I realized that plants can eat the sun and poop out air.” ~ Jim Bugg

th-2

Actions

Information

I love feedback!

